Simplified CAD models of watches to determine best size?

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
Tom.LL

Simplified CAD models of watches to determine best size?

Post by Tom.LL »

Hi everybody, I am new to watches and still looking for my first mechanical watch.

I have the problem that trying on watches in general means some effort to me since I live on the country side in Southern Germany. Plus, I don't really like our German cities. I try to avoid them. But Christopher Ward watches can't be tested anywhere anyway :)

The C60 Trident Pro 600 is on my list. I really like it. But I have the same problem so many of us have. It comes in 38mm and 40 mm but which is the better size? I could order both and send one back but I always disliked this method since I prefer my things to arrive 100% new and it causes unnecessary costs.

Today something came to my mind. More and more people own 3D printers or have access to 3D printers nowadays. Even the cheaper ones probably offer an accuracy of a few 0.1 mm. So wouldn't it be helpful to offer simplified CAD models (STEP files) of the watches so customers who have access to 3D printers can print them as true to scale models to check the size in advance?

What do you think, would it be helpful or just a stupid idea?
Kansas City Milkman
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 14

Re: Simplified CAD models of watches to determine best size?

Post by Kansas City Milkman »

Interesting idea but a ‘no’ from me.

Aside the fact that I know nobody with a 3D printer and not worth CW’s time and financial investment to deliver something with minimal uptake. I guess the other point is that a plastic replica would still not represent the true life version and how it would appear in reality.

That said, some websites allow a virtual view by adding wrist size, skin colour and watch to give a graphic view of how a model would look. That’s been useful for me in the past but, again, nothing really compares to what it’s like to wear the real thing