Too accurate!

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
User avatar
watchaholic
Senior Expert
Senior Expert
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:28 am
CW-watches: 2
Location: NE North Dakota, USA

Re: Too accurate!

Post by watchaholic » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:08 pm

First of all, I want to say that I am new to this forum and looking forward to the interaction. Secondly my experience with my C8 PR is exactly the same...spot on time keeping. Thats why we spend this kind of money right? Also love the power reserve indicator, makes the watch so easy to regulate. If we get down into the "red" zone and lose a couple sec, I just wind up into the 4.5 day range and within a day it is spot on again. If kept in the 1.5 and 3.5 day range it is near perfect😀
Time is fleeting, lunchtime...doubly so

Rick86410
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:59 am

Re: Too accurate!

Post by Rick86410 » Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:44 pm

Nice picture of the c60 keeping good time. I need to pick one up for my travels if it is that good.

jig18
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 11:03 pm

Re: Too accurate!

Post by jig18 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:01 pm

awesome. congrats!

Bungle-ator
Junior
Junior
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:17 pm

Re: Too accurate!

Post by Bungle-ator » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:04 am

I'm fair jealous of all these super accurate SH21's. I can't make up my mind with mine as it seems to be a bit Jekyll and Hyde. First 2 or 3 days after setting the time It's very accurate. It's gaining anything from 1 - 8+ seconds per day. Even if I wind it every evening the gains get bigger and bigger from day 5 or 6 on. If I dare not reset the time in a two week period it's kicking on two minutes fast.

I'm away from home with my Hamilton just now and 4 days after setting it it's a very impressive +2 seconds.

User avatar
Essex Paul
Forumgod
Forumgod
Posts: 897
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:07 pm
CW-watches: 1

Re: Too accurate!

Post by Essex Paul » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:46 am

The SH21’s should be within COSC in first 3 days. After that they do run fast as the barrels lose more power.
The bigger the reserve the more acurate they are.
C1 Grand Malvern Power Reserve

Bungle-ator
Junior
Junior
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:17 pm

Re: Too accurate!

Post by Bungle-ator » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:29 am

Essex Paul wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:46 am
The SH21’s should be within COSC in first 3 days. After that they do run fast as the barrels lose more power.
The bigger the reserve the more acurate they are.
Even winding mine fully every day it runs wild after 4 or 5 days of being set.

User avatar
Essex Paul
Forumgod
Forumgod
Posts: 897
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:07 pm
CW-watches: 1

Re: Too accurate!

Post by Essex Paul » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:44 am

Bungle-ator wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:29 am
Essex Paul wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:46 am
The SH21’s should be within COSC in first 3 days. After that they do run fast as the barrels lose more power.
The bigger the reserve the more acurate they are.
Even winding mine fully every day it runs wild after 4 or 5 days of being set.

Can I ask why you are winding it every day?
It has a 5 day power reserve.
But no, it shouldn’t run wild at all.
C1 Grand Malvern Power Reserve

Bungle-ator
Junior
Junior
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:17 pm

Re: Too accurate!

Post by Bungle-ator » Wed Apr 03, 2019 10:08 am

Essex Paul wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:44 am
Bungle-ator wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:29 am
Essex Paul wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:46 am
The SH21’s should be within COSC in first 3 days. After that they do run fast as the barrels lose more power.
The bigger the reserve the more acurate they are.
Even winding mine fully every day it runs wild after 4 or 5 days of being set.

Can I ask why you are winding it every day?
It has a 5 day power reserve.
But no, it shouldn’t run wild at all.
I've been trying to learn how to how to help the watch keep its best time. It's largely been experimental. It keeps better time when fully wound until day 4 or 5. If I don't wind it then it's inconsistent after day 2. The size of the power reserve means not a lot to me if it's compromising accuracy/consistency.

Post Reply