suicidal_orange SOTC April 2022

Proudly display your current State Of The Collection
Forum rules
Here you may post and share your State of The Collection (SOTC).
Please title your post with Your Forum name and date such as Kip - July 2014
If you wish to update your collection, please start a new topic following the same format. That will insure that your current SOTC will be at the top.
This area is for SOTC threads only. All others will be moved or deleted.
suicidal_orange
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 6

suicidal_orange SOTC April 2022

Post by suicidal_orange »

I've been putting this off for a couple of months (since I filled the box) because I don't have a good camera but that's not going to change for another month while the collection might, so here it is. Story is in order of purchase:

Having finished uni and got a job and money I bought an Oakley Icon as my "one watch". It's tiny, it has a titanium case and integrated bracelet and it never needs a battery as it has a rotor - perfect. As you can see though it's not a proper one watch as it's very casual, it also doesn't have a sapphire crystal so it's scratched to hell and though the rotor still spins (as noisily as it ever did) the capacitor the quartz movement runs on is dead so it pretty much stops if you sit down. For the price of a new crystal and capacitor I could buy a CW so it's doomed to stay dead.
Oakley.jpg
Does it deserve a place in the box? Not really.

Just a few months after buying the Oakley I realised some of it's shortfalls and somehow stumbled upon CW and the forum during a Nearly New sale. I looked at the C15 but it sounded very big so I went for the all black CW C3IPK as a more dressy option to the Oakley, more suited to an office environment.