WR Testing practices at CW.

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
Blackdog
Senior
Senior
CW-watches: 2

WR Testing practices at CW.

Post by Blackdog »

Hello, I'm new to the brand and currently expecting to receive a Trident Pro 600.

Is it known what are the brand practices regarding the WR testing of the watches ? Are they following the ISO 6425 recommendations regarding their dive watches ?

I'm asking because I have been generally disappointed by the way most microbrands seem to operate, by claiming some outrageous WR figures and never testing the watches before leaving the factory. Then it's a hit or miss situation, and a supposedly 600m WR watch can actually fog under a shower...

CW being somewhat (you may tell me how much so) above the general microbrand status, do they have more consistent testing policies ?

Thanks for the enlightenment.
richtel
Trusted Seller
Trusted Seller
CW-watches: 8

Re: WR Testing practices at CW.

Post by richtel »

Welcome to the forum!

No matter what CW may say, I suspect you'd not be satisfied by anything other than independent anecdotal experience to confirm or deny post-casing presure testing at the factory.

Another way of viewing the question is to consider how often we hear of CW divers taking on water and you could bet that if it were a common occurence we'd hear about it on this forum. I've only been hanging around here for four years but I don't recall one diver failing which was properly secured with a tight crown.

Added to which, CW do stipulate (again, their word for it) that when watches are serviced they are pressure checked. I see no reason to doubt they they do that both when servicing and on the assembly line.
Rich

"The bad news is that time flies. The good news is that you're the pilot."
Thegreyman
Trusted Seller
Trusted Seller
CW-watches: 6

Post by Thegreyman »

Yes I too can't recall hearing of anyone having WR issues with the Trident....and it is their biggest selling watch.