C5 Malvern Slimline

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
Nicolas C.M.

C5 Malvern Slimline

Post by Nicolas C.M. »

Hi All,

I am very new to watches, and Christopher Ward is the second watch I have ever owned in my long, harsh 19 year old life. I bought the C5 Malvern Slimline that operates a hand winding movement, and I am in complete confusion about the proper amount of winding the watch needs. The manual says to wind the watch until you begin to feel resistance, but I feel some sort of resistance by the 5th revolution. I stop winding once I feel this "resistance", and the watch works for a day, but once I go to bed, I wake up to an idle watch. If anyone can help me understand this watch, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.
Amor Vincit Omnia
CW-watches: 4

Re: C5 Malvern Slimline

Post by Amor Vincit Omnia »

Hello and welcome. It sounds as though you are very new to mechanical (and hand wound) watches. Therefore some anxiety is not unusual. Whereas if you grew up with hand wound watches it is quite obvious.

If the watch is working properly it should take between 30 and 40 winds to get it up to full power. It should then run for over 40 hours. It is normal to feel different levels of resistance with different watches, but when you have reached a fully wound state it is obvious. You will feel kind of stop mechanism and you cannot physically wind the watch any further. They are quite difficult to break but if you go gently it should be obvious when you reach that point. You will soon become confident with it.
Steve
Linguist; retired teacher; pilgrim; apprentice travel writer

Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, kill nothing but time

Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. (Max Ehrmann)
PaulWB
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 62
LE-two: yes
LE-fourb: yes

Post by PaulWB »

Welcome to the forum - good watch choice for your first CW watch.