Battery change and WR

Here you can post stuff that is not related to Christopher Ward
poppydoodlesdad
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod

Battery change and WR

Post by poppydoodlesdad »

"You can get help from teachers, but you are going to have to learn a lot by yourself, sitting alone in a room." Dr. Seuss

Some watches
Gogs
Senior
Senior
CW-watches: 1

Re: Battery change and WR

Post by Gogs »

I'm no expert, but bog standard jewellers usually say this. There are some that have testing kit that will verify WR for an extra cost.

Not sure what would happen when they test it and it leaks.......

Sent using Tapatalk
Tag Heuer Monaco
Tag Heuer Professional Golf
C60 Trident Auto
Kip
The Administrator
The Administrator
CW-watches: 150
LE-one: yes
LE-two: yes
LE-three: yes
LE-foura: yes
LE-fourb: yes
LE-five: yes
LE-six: yes
LESeven: yes

Post by Kip »

Proper commercial pressure testing machines are expensive. A true service center should have the capability to at least change the caseback gasket and do a pressure test.

They will not guarantee the water resistance because they can't test for it.

If they have the ability to test and it does leak, at least you know and can take proper precautions. The most they can do to correct would probably be the caseback gasket. If it leaks otherwise it is probably the crystal or crown gaskets which very few centers are prepared to keep in stock due to so many specialty gaskets out there.
Kip

"Asylum Administrator"

Visit the CWArchives for everything CW. Historical, specs, manuals and resale. It is all there.
poppydoodlesdad
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod

Battery change and WR

/
"You can get help from teachers, but you are going to have to learn a lot by yourself, sitting alone in a room." Dr. Seuss

Some watches
Loddonite
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 5

Post by Loddonite »

It's daft isn't it PDdad?