A place to discuss other watch-brands
Pete_vxl
Junior
Junior
CW-watches: 1

Hand winders amongst us (steinhart)

Post by Pete_vxl »

Evening all.

Really wanting some gentle peer pressure. Im relatively new to watch collecting but i have a basic grasp on the goings on. Mrs pete_vxl has offered to get me a watch for my birthday and i have my eyes set on a steinhart B-UHR hand wind however although it is a beautiful peice i have never owned a manual watch before. Is it advisible to get one or should i get the auto?

The watch will be used maybe twice a week as i use my CW monte carlo and a Rotary diver as my dailys.

Any advice welcomed.
downer
CW-watches: 4

Re: Hand winders amongst us (steinhart)

Post by downer »

I'd say you would be happy with either. The hand-wound has a nice, visible movement which adds some interest to the watch, but obviously, misses out on the date and the large second hand.

One of the nice things about mechanical watches is watching the sweep of the second hand, and for me, that puts the auto at an advantage.

On the other hand, many people enjoy the interaction of setting and winding the watch before using it.

In terms of using it twice per week, I don't think it matters which one you choose, and you can't go wrong with either. :)
Richard
ianblyth
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 19
LE-two: yes
LE-three: yes
LE-foura: yes
LE-five: Yes
LE-six: Yes

Post by ianblyth »

A hand wound needs to be wound up before use or wound every day if you want to keep the watch going. Some people like the ritual and intimacy of setting the watch and winding it each time or every day.