Old Watch

A place to discuss other watch-brands
teestech
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 7

Old Watch

Post by teestech »

Not sure if this is the correct place in the forum for this post, so please tell me if it needs moving.

As I'm fairly new to collecting watches, I was interested to hear from my parents that a watch belonging to my grandfather was 'in the bottom of a drawer somewhere'. My grandfather died long before I was born, in fact when my dad was only 14 (in 1961), so a watch belonging to him obviously carries some sentimental value.

Said watch was located.....a gold plated thing that was rather well rubbed through and in a bit of a state, with fixed strap bars one of which was quite bent, a very scratched crystal, no strap and generally looking a bit worse for wear. I gave it a quick wind, and to my amazement it started to tick. Unsurprisingly though, after an hour it was already several minutes out and it stopped if you tilted the watch in a particular direction, and stopped totally after a few hours.

The sentimental side though still made it interesting, so whilst getting some batteries renewed in a couple of quartz watches, I asked the local "watch man" to take a look and see if it was worth doing anything with. It turns out the rather rubbed gold plated case was in fact solid gold that just had half a century of grime over it! When he opened it up he said it looks like it's never been open, never serviced etc. The crown was badly worn hence it not taking a full wind and the movement itself was pretty dirty.