Incoming - Zenith El Primero

A place to discuss other watch-brands
downer
CW-watches: 4

Incoming - Zenith El Primero

Post by downer »

Following a bit of a merry-go-round last week, I have successfully sourced a Zenith El Primero at a sensible(ish) price. This one required a lot of thought as it meant selling a couple of others in order to fund it without spending my daughters inheritance..

During this search, I came to the conclusion that my collection of more expensive watches is almost complete, as I have realised there are not many gaps I wish to fill and not many of my existing collection that I wish to sell. So, maybe one or two more 'big' purchases and then I will either retire from the game or revert to dabbling in a new affordable collection. However, all of that is for the future...

Back to this watch. I have been dreaming of owning one of these for at least a couple of years, starting when the Striking 10th was released. At that time, the choice of watches with the tri-colour dial was the (expensive) limited edition Striking 10th or the 38mm 1969 edition - neither of which was ideal for me. However, this time last year, I discovered that Zenith was planning to launch a 42mm tri-colour El Primero in October 2013. This was to be model number 03.2040.400/69.C494, and the target of my searching.

At UK list prices, Zenith watches are probably a bad place to put your money, but (hopefully) bought lightly used, they can be a decent buy.

This particular watch is from May 2014, it is unworn, and comes with a full manufacturers 2 year warranty and a fully stamped warranty card. From that point of view, it's as good as new.

Of course, a major aspect of this one is the El Primero movement, which, conceptually at least, is almost as old as I am. The development was started in 1962, with a planned launch in 1965. It was planned to be the first mechanical automatic chronograph. In fact, the launch did not take place until 1969...

From the Zenith website: