Peteo
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 4
LE-two: yes
LE-fourb: yes

Looking to Get a Clock

Post by Peteo »

I bought my first house earlier this summer, and I think that'd I'd like to get a nice clock for the main floor. But I don't really know who the good quality makers are. Chelsea? Hermle? Howard Miller? I've got no real knowledge to base anything on.

I'd like to get something mechanical but not too formal or stuffy looking (i.e., I don't think the traditional grandfather clock is for me). I'd like something that looks decently contemporary but isn't trying too hard to look cutting edge. I was looking at ship's bell clocks, but I'm not sure if that's what I really want.

Any advice?
Peteo
4x Christopher Ward, 2x Sinn, 2x Omega, 1x A. Lange & Sohne, 1x H. Moser & Cie, 1x Tudor, 1x Towson Watch Company, 1x Baltimore Watch Company. Always looking for watches from Maryland. What's Next?
Kip
The Administrator
The Administrator
CW-watches: 150
LE-one: yes
LE-two: yes
LE-three: yes
LE-foura: yes
LE-fourb: yes
LE-five: yes
LE-six: yes
LESeven: yes

Re: Looking to Get a Clock

Post by Kip »

In my opinion, you have made a good decision wanting a mechanical clock.

This can be a tough look as there really is not a great range of new mechanicals around. One of my favorites, but pricey and worth it, are Erwin Sattler clocks. Howard Miller is a brand that produces a wide variety of style using both Hermle and Kieninger movements. Chelsea clocks are also good. They use their own movements as well as some Hermle on their less expensive models.

Although more expensive generally, many of the modern chime clocks have the ability to mute the chimes, so check that on some chiming clocks you may find attractive.