Digging the escape tunnel

Here you can post stuff that is not related to Christopher Ward
iain
Trusted Seller
Trusted Seller
CW-watches: 1

Digging the escape tunnel

Post by iain »

I’ve been doing a bit of thinking lately about my watch buying habits and the size of my collection. I tend to keep the numbers much smaller than many of you and currently only have 6 watches, with the FLE still to arrive making 7. I do have thoughts though that even this is excessive for me.

I’ve been buying and selling watches for about 10 years and a change of circumstances with a daughter to fund through university means I’m going to have to rein things in somewhat. I’ll have no watch funds for the next few years at least and I hope that by the time I come out the other side I will be cured.

A recent 3 week holiday during which I only wore one watch also opened my eyes a little to the fact I don’t really need multiple watches to be happy with what I have.

Therefore my thoughts have been turning to calling it a day with my collecting habits and settle on a few choice watches that I can keep long term and be happy with. Hopefully I can dig that tunnel and escape from buying and selling watches.

So I have a few options open to me.
Just call it day and stick with what I have.
Sell a few and stick with a smaller number of 3 or 4 max.
Sell a few, buy one last watch to keep longer term which still achieves the aim of downsizing.

Out of my watches only the IWC MKXVIII and the El Primero are 100% safe but all the others could make way.