Commissioning a piece of art

Here you can post stuff that is not related to Christopher Ward
Amor Vincit Omnia
CW-watches: 4

Commissioning a piece of art

Post by Amor Vincit Omnia »

I've never done this before, so I'm quite excited about it.

My Egypt book is getting to an advanced stage now, and I was starting to think of my cover image. I knew what I wanted...

In the opening chapter I wrote a description of "The Egypt of the Heart and Mind", a half-remembered image from a vintage travel poster I must have seen as a child. It had all the tropes: camels, palm trees, pyramids, a dahabiya (twin-masted sailing boat).

I have a passion for these vintage posters, and the "hook of the book" is the image and whether I could discover anything of the magic from it on my trip.

I decided that the image would need to be recreated, and I'm delighted that a former pupil of mine, currently studying Fine Art at university, has agreed to take it on. She's a very talented young lady and seems enthused by the idea...and I'm sure the Prosecco Tokens will be appreciated.

More anon.
These users thanked the author Amor Vincit Omnia for the post (total 7):
Paul DrawmerKipmissFiainscooterjkbarnesthomcat00
Steve
Linguist; retired teacher; pilgrim; apprentice travel writer

Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, kill nothing but time

Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. (Max Ehrmann)
iain
Trusted Seller
Trusted Seller
CW-watches: 2

Re: Commissioning a piece of art

Post by iain »

This sounds like an interesting commission. I assume you have not seen the poster since childhood and the artist is going to create one from your memories?

Or have you managed to find an old poster that they will be drawing inspiration from and embellishing?

It’s also good to hear that the book itself is coming along. You hadn’t mentioned it for a while and I was wondering if it was still in progress or had gone on to the back burner.