Wow, it's big !

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
karma mechanic
Senior
Senior
CW-watches: 2

Wow, it's big !

Post by karma mechanic »

My C4 Peregrine in steel and tan arrived today. Very nice packaging, and the quality is outstanding.

However... it is a lot bigger than I was expecting !

Here's what I've been wearing for 10 years or so:

and here's the new one (this pic appears to be from slightly further away judging by the wrist thickness shown):

Although the face is only slightly wider I think the impression of greater size comes mainly from the extra thickness and the way the bezel is proud rather than bevelled.. I'm on the smallest-but-one strap setting.

I'm also having a bit of trouble getting used to the face in terms of readability. In some lighting the hands get pretty much lost against the face, not helped by the visual distraction of the black hand being so clear. In other sharper lighting the hands are very clear, it seems to depend on whether the edges of the hands produce a dark reflection or not - just turning the watch in soft light there are positions where the contrast between the face and hands almost disappears. Visually there is a lot more to decode on the face.

All told I'm very impressed and I think it is a great watch, but I can't help feeling that for telling the time easily it isn't quite as good as its predecessor...

I'm already looking at the C5 Aviator pictures and thinking how simple and clear it is !
hantsman
Senior Expert
Senior Expert

Re: Wow, it's big !

Post by hantsman »

Thats why I like a black face, also im now 46 and my eye sight is going slighty :( if you think you have made a mistake stop wearing it, and give CW a call!
flashman
Senior Guru
Senior Guru
CW-watches: 3

Post by flashman »

This is why military watches are usually dark face, light hands, easily readable numerals etc. I still think your C4 looks the business though. Very smart watch. :)
karma mechanic
Senior
Senior

Post by karma mechanic »