University student with questions

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
espresso

University student with questions

Post by espresso »

Hola, gentlemen.

So, I'm a university student in the market for a watch. But I don't want just any watch, and I don't want a cheaply made piece of junk. I stumbled upon the C5 quartz watches for $225 and thought to myself, "hey, that's not half bad!" The fine folks of watchuseek have given their stamps of approval to Christopher Ward watches and since they are Swiss made they seem like a sure bet. However, I'm a newbie to horology and I'm wondering is a quartz watch (even if it is from Switzerland) worth it for a first timer? Are quartz "movements" able to withstand the test of time? I know it's only a $225 watch, but to a university student it's quite a bit when you consider the expenses of my books next month. :P

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Cheers.
Kip
The Administrator
The Administrator
CW-watches: 150
LE-one: yes
LE-two: yes
LE-three: yes
LE-foura: yes
LE-fourb: yes
LE-five: yes
LE-six: yes
LESeven: yes

Re: University student with questions

Post by Kip »

Welcome to "The Asylum"!

The C5 quartz is certainly is worth it in my opinion. It is an excellent value and a good looker.
Kip

"Asylum Administrator"

Visit the CWArchives for everything CW. Historical, specs, manuals and resale. It is all there.
espresso

Post by espresso »

Thank you, Kip! I have a 7" wrist, so I hope the watch will fit properly. :P Is there a consensus on what's the better watch between the C3 quartz and C5 quartz? I apologize in advance as I'll be asking lots of questions during my time here, and I hope I don't begin to annoy the regular and knowledgable membership.
Kip
The Administrator
The Administrator
CW-watches: 150
LE-one: yes
LE-two: yes
LE-three: yes
LE-foura: yes
LE-fourb: yes
LE-five: yes
LE-six: yes
LESeven: yes

Post by Kip »