Thoughts after owning first CW watch

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
desmodue

Thoughts after owning first CW watch

Post by desmodue »

I bought a Nearly New 40mm Trident Pro 600 a few weeks ago. Here are my initial thoughts as a complete newbie.

DHL sucks. They put a hold on my watch after it cleared New York customs and was sitting at the Cincinnati, Ohio hub. 4 days later it made to my door (about 160 miles) They never explained why they held it. It was left on the front porch and when I later got the delivery confirmation text it stated that a signature for delivery was obtained. Nope. I was at home and heard the truck pull up, I saw the truck pull away as I opened the door.

On to the watch. It appeared as new, which was what I expecting based on posts of those that have purchased NN from CW. The 40mm is perfect for my 7" wrist, totally happy with the look and feel. It is a beautiful understated piece of machinery.

It was running when I opened the box, but probably stopped a few times as it sat at various points of the transit. I set the time and checked it the next day without wearing it or removing the protective plastic. It gained about 3 seconds in 24 hours. I removed 3 links and checked the fit, it fit my wrist with the micro-adjust almost all the way out. I added one of the half links that were generously provided, It fit perfectly with the micro-adjust all the way in initially. Over the next several days I ended up adjusting it in and out 2 or 3 notches depending on activity, salt intake etc. Props to CW for manufacturing and providing the half links, I do not think I would have gotten the fit I needed without them.