Starting out

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
Zarcod
CW-watches: 0

Starting out

Post by Zarcod »

I'm new to all this...forums and mechanical watches.

I've wanted to own a good mechanical for a while but found them to be too expensive - That is until I stumbled on the CW's. That being said I really don't know how they stack up against the well known and much more expensive watches. All I know is that I found his automatics to be good looking and in my price range.

I'm sure that most, if not all, of the members of this forum are much more educated in the merits of CW brand. I'd like to hear what you think of them.
Zarcod
phubbard
CW-watches: 1

Delighted to help

Post by phubbard »

joerattz
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 8

I was in the same boat as you ...

Post by joerattz »

about a year ago. I knew I wanted to get a mechanical or automatic watch, but I still had trouble with the accuracy to price ratio of a mechanical/automatic compared to a quartz watch. After looking around for about 3 months, I came to the conclusion that the CW Malvern was by far the best deal at the time. I think it was DavidM1's review at Timezone that sold me on it. Here are my reasons for why I think it was such a bargain:

1. Quality and reliable movement - ETA 2824
2. Saphire crystal (front only, not back)
3. Solid stainless steel case
4. Exhibition back

When I looked for other watches with those features, I always ended up in the +$300 US range. At that time, my Malvern cost me about $175 delivered to the US. There has been a price increase since then, which makes it a little less of a bargain, but I still haven't seen a better value.

When I was looking, the biggest competitor to my Malvern Auto that I kept seeing was a Hamilton Jazzmaster. But, the MA was just a better deal. I also liked the fact that the company was small enough that I could correspond directly with the owner of the company.