Discuss Christopher Ward watches
rosstcorbett
Junior
Junior
CW-watches: 0

Stainless Steel V Titanium Grade 2

Post by rosstcorbett »

Hi everybody,

I hope you are all having a great weekend. I have a question regarding which metal is better for a dive watch.

I'm new to the forum so please excuse what I guess is a very newbie question but please bear with me as I am a complete beginner :)

I recently sold my C60 and purchased the C65 Trident Automatic which I love. It's stunning. However, I then recently found out about the new releases due May 1st.

I have just come across a spec sheet of the new watches on another website which includes the C60 Trident Elite 1000 LE which looks very exciting as I am missing the chunkier heavy feel of a C60.

It says it is made of Titanium Grade 2 which sounds great but when I googled it a lot came up about Titanium 2 scratching easier than the 316 stainless steel. Is this true in your experience? Would the 316 stainless steel not be better to use, especially with it being such an expensive watch?

The main reason I am so curious is I will have to sell my rather new and stunning C65 Trident Automatic to purchase it and trying to ensure I have covered all angles :)

Please excuse my very long message. Next time I will try to keep it more to the point :)

Regards,

Ross
Wearing: C60 Trident Pro 300 - Black
H0rati0
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 4

Re: Stainless Steel V Aluminium Grade 2

Post by H0rati0 »

All things being equal (which they are not because both SS and Titanium can be finished/processed in many different ways) the advantage of Titanium over SS is that too a point, scratches "heal" because raw Titanium oxidises over quickly.

The other advantage (depending) is that Titanium is about half the weight of SS so horses for courses.

I would not be put off by Titanium per se, it all depends on the watch itself.
"There is no beginning to enlightenment and no end to training" - Dogen Zenji (1200-1253)
Chris375